Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Sam Cooke

Sam Cooke packed a lot of impressive accomplishments into his tragically brief life and career. In the 7 years between 1957 and 1964, he had 29 top 40 hits. He also founded his own record label and publishing company.  Today’s clip appears to be from “American Bandstand.” Sam appeared on the show 4 times inclucing once in 1964  just months before his death. I don’t know which appearance this is but the song is his 1957 hit “You Send Me.”

I love Sam Cooke and I love this song but, oddly enough, I hate sending things. That means, if you’re watching the mailbox for a gift or a thoughtful greeting card or that money I owe you, it’s probably never coming. I think they invented electronic bill paying just for me. Okay, there may have been a few other reasons but mainly they made it to get money out of me. I have no idea where this mail aversion comes from. Maybe my mother was frightened by a rampaging postal worker when she was pregnant with me. All I know is the moment I became old enough to affix a stamp to an envelope, I knew I wanted nothing to do with the whole business!

I do quite like recieving things though. Perhaps what I need to cure me of this terrible, chronic affliction is total emersion therapy. Perhaps if everyone sends me fabulous treats and prizes I’ll be able to conquer this terrible mail induced laziness… I mean “phobia” and lead a normal life. If someone sends me a pony maybe I’ll even be able to face having penpals!

Comments on: "Sam Cooke" (3)

  1. Wow! I’m just like that. I still have stuff from LAST ComicCon to send out. And Sam Cooke was brilliant.

    And on that note, I must now go mail my taxes because they’ll come after me if I don’t.

  2. Me too. Hate sending things. And I presently have two letters to mail with dire consequences for not doing so. Thanks for the reminder! I would like to become a person who has no problem mailing packages. Maybe someday…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

