Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Here’s a scene from the 1957 movie “A Face In The Crowd.” The film was directed by Elia Kazan and it starred Patricia Neal and Andy Griffith. It’s about the rise and fall of a hobo turned loud mouthed TV pundit.  The song in this clip is called “Free Man In The Morning.” It was composed by Tom Glazer with lyrics by Bud Schulberg. It’s quite a nice little blues number, which isn’t surprising because Andy Griffith is quite a good musician (though he doesn’t appear to be actually playing in this clip).

I once attended a fascinating lecture about why we humans are so easily manipulated. Don’t worry, I’m not going to regurgitate it here. I’m aware that my definition of “fascinating” is not in step with anyone else, anywhere, ever. Suffice it to say we are born “gullible” and, believe it or not,  it’s usually not a bad thing. I do think modern, corporate driven, mass media manipulation sucks pretty big eggs though. I believe that so strongly, in fact that, in a fit of diva pique, I shut off the cable here at House Beautiful. It’s been gone about 5 years now and I haven’t missed it at all. That’s right I’ve broken free of the yoke of my corporate oppressors by streaming the exact same programs with the exact same commercials to my TV through the internet! The internet for which I am now paying double because I no longer have the TV/internet package deal. So yeah, I’m totally fighting the power over here!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

