Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

“Get Christie Love” started out as a 1974 made for TV movie based on the novel “The Ledger” which was about a White female detective. The film makers decided to make the character Black because of the success of several lady cop blaxploitation films made around the same time. The Christie Love movie was so successful that is spawned a TV series later that year. The series, unfortunately, did not fare as well as the movie. This clip is the show’s theme song which was most likely written by Jack Elliot and Allyn Ferguson.

Well spring time is upon us again. It is the time when the young nerd’s fancy turns to planning for coming Con season. I am personally confirmed for one Con and tentatively attending two more so I have already started planning my costume. I’m sure you have already guessed from the video I posted that I’m planning to go as Steampunk Slave Leia… Okay, you got me, of course I’m planning to follow in the grand tradition of Christie Love, Cleopatra Jones, Coffy and others and dress as a blaxploitation lady crime fighter! I’m shopping for hair and wardrobe and even fabulous platform shoes. Now all I need is the gun!

I am concerned that no Con will let me in packing heat no matter how fake it looks so I decided a bull whip of justice would be just as bad ass (possibly even a bit badder asser). Plus I have always wanted a cool whip! (pun intended) Unfortunately I had a hard time finding one that was the right color in my price range but fortunately I discovered that whips are actually quite cheap and easy to make. I braided two of them tonight just for practice and I finished in less than two hours. I told my friend I was hoping to make my actual costume whip in velvet and she suggested I get matching fuzzy handcuffs to complete the ensemble. We both quickly realized that handcuffs and a whip might take my costume theme in a completely unintended direction but you know what? I don’t even care! If I find matching handcuffs I am buying them on the spot.  Besides, if people misunderstand I can always cuff  the nearest Slave Leia and surrender to the inevitable.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

