Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Outkast is a hip hop duet whose members are Andre 3000 and Big Boi. The two men met while they were both students at a high school for performing arts in Georgia. They signed their first record deal in 1992 and released their first single in 1993. The song in the video today is “Hey Ya” which was released in 2003. It spent 10 weeks at number one that year and it was named the 20th most successful song of the decade. It’s also a fun little number.

I post a lot of “old school” music here on the blog but every now and then I feel like getting with the times. I pull out my racoon coat and my saddle shoes and I 23 skidoo myself over to the You Tubes to see what the kids are listening to these days. The problem is, it seems every song I think is “phat,” “stoopid,” or “funky fresh” is actually ancient history.

I got curious about exactly when a song crosses the magic threshold between “latest thing” and “oldie but goodie” so I did a little research using You Tube comments as my guide. I got some interesting results. It turns out no one waxes nostalgic about songs 5 years old or younger. But the minute a song turns six, you begin to see the “Oh wow this really takes me back” comments. By the time a song is as ancient as the one in the video today (8 years for the non math majors) you are deep into “they just don’t make ’em like they used to” territory. Ah 2003, how I pine for the days when we used to sit around the old wind up iPod and listen to the greats masters like Beyoncé and Christina Aguilera. Kids today just don’t know good music like we had back then!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

