Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

The Ink Spots

The Ink Spots started working together professionally in 1931. They reached their peak of popularity in 1944 but, with several personnel changes of course, they are still active and performing today. “If I Didn’t Care” was written by Jack Lawrence and it was first recorded by the Ink Spots in 1939. I’m not sure when this soundie was made but I’d guess it was some time in the mid 40’s because the group appears to have gone through some personnel changes at the time of filming .

Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you the Founding Fathers, nay, the KINGS of the formulaic pop song! I am not exaggerating when I say that  every single song starts out with exactly the same guitar refrain. To me it sounds like the beginning of “Happy Trails To You” but I couldn’t begin to tell you who came up with the idea first. Then the beautifully articulate lead tenor sings the melody, followed by the sexy baritone “rap” of the song’s lyrics for emphasis. (Barry White owes that guy a bunch of royalties.) Finally the tenor repeats the chorus often ending on a groin tightening high note. My grandmother adored The Ink Spots and so do I. They have wonderful voices and they cover songs that boast some of the most beautiful lyrics ever written. Besides, even though all their songs shared the same melody, you know it had to be a good one because 60 years later people are still paying good money to hear them sing it over and over again!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

