Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Turkey In The Straw

Cartoon music appreciation time again! “Turkey In The Straw” was first used in “Steamboat Willie,” the first Mickey Mouse cartoon ever released. It made popular by minstrel performers in the 1820s and 1830s. Several people claim to have composed it and no one knows for sure who deserves the credit. This performance is a soundie from 1942 by musical comedy group, “The Original Schnickelfritz Band.”

I picked this song because I was thinking about the George Gobel “Had a little chickie and he wouldn’t lay an egg…” lyrics. I am running around like a scalded chicken tonight. The Beautiful Girl and I are going away this weekend. And when I say “away” I mean a place outside our actual house! Can you believe it?? We are hanging with family and friends and I will be participating in a couple of great charity events. Keeping up the blog will be a challenge this weekend but I am packing my cape, my boots and  my skin-tight super suit because I plan to conquer all posting obstacles with a minimum of chafing!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

