Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Here’s a 1932 Betty Boop cartoon featuring Louis Armstrong’s orchestra playing the song “I’ll Be Glad When You’re Dead You Rascal You” by Samuel Theard. It’s racist as all get out but I suppose we can consider it an “important part of our collective history” since it is one of Armstrong’s first film appearances. Besides, I love this song!

So… Osama Bin Laden is dead. Some people are dancing in the street. Some people find the celebration disturbing. I am not singing in the street but I feel no remorse at this man’s passing. I truly believe humanity is better off without some people. I appreciate the rhetoric of non-violence but I leave it to hearts and tongues more charitable than mine. I don’t believe in eternal damnation, but for the next few million foreseeable eons, do not rest in peace Mr. Bin Laden.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

