Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Happy Cinco De Mayo!

Cinco de Mayo is the celebration of the Mexican army’s victory over French forces at the Battle of Puebla in 1862. The internet tells me that, in Mexico, Cinco de Mayo is really more of a regional holiday which is mainly celebrated in the state of Puebla. It’s a much bigger deal here in the US where the holiday has come to symbolize unity in the Mexican and community.

In 1987, Linda Ronstadt recorded an extremely popular album of traditional mariachi music called “Canciones De Mi Padre” to honor her Mexican heritage. Today’s song is called “La Rielera” or “The Railroad.” It was written around the time of the Mexican Revolution which was 60 years after the Cinco De Mayo incident but the spirit is the same I think.

Tonight I will be preparing the most authentic Mexican feast my meager culinary skills can manage. That’s right people, I have thawed ground beef and purchased pre-shaped corn shells, Velveeta, and a Taco Bell flavored seasoning packet. Move over racist chihuahua commercial mascot! Tonight the Beautiful Family is going to get the runs at the border! Or something like that anyway…

Comments on: "Happy Cinco De Mayo!" (2)

  1. The next time I read a blog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as much as this one. I mean, I know it was my choice to read, however I actually thought youd have something attention-grabbing to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you could possibly repair in the event you werent too busy looking for attention.

    • I am pretty sure this comment is spam but I let it through anyway because it’s so fascinatingly hostile! Who’d have thought Linda Ronstadt and inauthentic tacos would make strangers so angry!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

