Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Java Jive

I didn’t really know anything about the King Sisters until I found this soundie. They sang with both Artie Shaw’s and Charlie Barnet’s orchestras. They also had their own TV variety show from 1965 to 1969. This s 1941 soundie for the song “Java Jive” by Ben Oakland. It was a huge hit for the Ink Spots but I couldn’t find a video of them performing it live so the King Sisters it is!

It was a long time coming but now it’s official, I am addicted to caffeine. I lose sleep because of it, I think I can’t function without it (and I’m right), and if I try to go without it I get DTs (okay a bit of a headache but where’s the drama in that). The low price and high availability of my drug keep the monkey on my back quite happy but make no mistake, if your hand drifts too near my first energy drink of the day I might scratch you and then you too will be come a caffeine addicted weregrump every sunrise.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

