Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Mannix!

“Mannix” was an award winning TV detective series which ran from 1967-1975. Mannix was a private detective played by Mike (Touch) Connors. I never saw the show but, from what I’ve read, most of the plots revolve around one of Mannix’s old army buddies turning homicidal and kidnapping his secretary. Interstingly enough (but only to me), even though I don’t remember ever watching the show, I do remember the theme song quite well. It was written by Lalo Schifrin (impossibly cool name) and it’s fairly unique in that, according to Wikipedia, it’s the only detective show theme ever written in “triple time or waltz time.” I just think it’s a cool theme.

I’ve been told by people who know that my knowlege of TV themes is “just a touch Asperger-y.”  This makes me very proud. Unfortunately it does not also make me very rich, but that’s life. You take what you can get. In fact, “you take the good, you take the bad, you take them both and there you have the Facts of Life” (seasons 2-5). What?

Comments on: "Mannix!" (1)

  1. Another long-forgotten show of the early 70’s was Probe, a groovy spyfest starring Burgess Merideth, Tony Franciosa and Hugh O’Brien wearing micro TV cameras. The best part, apart from all the chest hair, was Dominic Frontiere’s theme.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

