Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Here’s a nifty five and a half minute commercial which features Lorne Green, Pernell Roberts, Dan Blocker, Michael Landon, Robert Vaughn, Elizabeth Montgomery, Agnes Moorehead, and Dick Sargent. You Tube says it originally aired on September 27, 1964 right after a commercial free episode of “Bonanza.”

I’m not sure what it says about me that the first thing I think about when I watch this is that almost everyone in that commercial is dead. (Robert Vaughn is, thankfully, still with us.) Also, an alarming number of them died from cancer. It’s a coincidence, obviously, but these are the sick, sad things I find interesting.

Now onto happier but completely unrelated things: I don’t know what music is playing in this commercial, but this gives me an excuse to post two of the theme songs with the seldom heard lyrics! First up is “Bewitched” which was written by Howard Greenfield and Jack Keller. This is Steve Lawrence singing.

Here’s the “Bonanza” theme song by Jay Livingston and Ray Evans. Here’s Paw Cartwright himself singing it.

I think I discussed my Samantha vs Jeanie battle theory here before. (Jeanie all the way) But I don’t think I’ve ever discussed the battle of the idiots Darren vs Major Nelson theory. I think Tony is the obvious answer. Seriously, how do you have a half naked, magic hot chick walking around your house who is totally into you and *not* take advantage of the situation? Darren’s no magic policy wasn’t particularly bright but at least he was “tapping that.” Hell, I’m straight and even *I’d* have slept with Jeanie if she asked!

Comments on: "Is It Bowitched Or Benanza?" (1)

  1. I was like, “Ooh, it’s the Teenage Caveman himself!” when I saw Robert Vaughn, because I’ve only seen him in that and not Man From U.N.C.L.E. HaHa!

    Did I miss your Samantha vs. Genii battle theory or did we talk about this before on the CinTan forum? I think Genii’s magic may be stronger but Samantha was the better role model for me growing up.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

