Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Frankie And Annette

Here’s a clip from “Beach Blanket Bingo” (1964). Annette Funicello and Frankie Avalon are singing “I Think, You Think.” It’s not a great song nor was it a great movie but I’m sure it was the bees knees for the teens and tweens of yesteryear.

I like to think of the current crop of Disney and Nickolodeon musicals as modern beach party movies. My daughter is at an age where, for her, teenagers are superheroes! She loves those dreadful musicals and I let her watch them even though they make my ears bleed. Say what you want about the quality of the music and the quality of the film but the actual characters are pretty decent role models. Like Frankie and Annette, they are basically good kids and I wouldn’t mind my kid emulating them.

She also loves the Disney and Nick teen/tween sitcoms. I do not. I think the main characters in those shows are over-sexed, amoral, rude little bitches (pardon my French if you must). I won’t put them on her Netflix queue. I really wish Netflix would stream “Sabrina, The Teenage Witch.” I was never the target demographic for the show but I have seen a few episodes and I think she’d make a great sitcom role model! When I see Frank I will ask if he has any say on how they broadcast the show. I am almost 100% certain the answer is no but it can’t hurt to ask. After all, when I was a kid I grew up all higgledy piggledy watching whatever shows happened to be on the airwaves during my waking hours. We are so fortunate in this modern age that we good parents can hand choose a much more appropriate television line-up to raise our children.

Comments on: "Frankie And Annette" (1)

  1. Frankie Avalon and Annette Funicello are the Dick Clair and Jenna McMahon of pop culture!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

