Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

Triplets

Here’s a clip from the 1953 movie “The Band Wagon.” It features Fred Astaire, Nanette Fabray, and Jack Buchanan singing “Triplets.” I think I may have already done this video but I’ve done lots of videos more than once so here ya go!

I thought about this video today because of a question a friend of mine posed on Facebook. He asked “What would you do if you knew your child was a sociopath?” Alright, clearly he’s been watching too much “Dexter” but it’s an interesting question. I told him I believe all kids are sociopaths before a certain age. Don’t get me wrong, babies and toddlers are adorable and awesome people, but if you blow a toddler up to man size, don’t stand between him and cookies. Trust me, he would have no compunction about taking you down to get to them.

I have no idea when our empathy and morality gets switched on but I’m glad, for most of us, it does. It is a dimmer switch though and sometimes we all have it set a bit gloomier than we should. I doubt many of us truly have to worry about raising sociopaths. Perhaps a better question for parents would be: How do we avoid raising kids who have chronic “mood lighting of the soul?”

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

