Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

A-Z Ladies Of Music F

F is for composer Sylvia Fine. Sylvia studied music at Brooklyn College. She met her husband Danny Kaye while they were both working in a Broadway musical called “The Straw Hat Review.” The pair were married in 1940. Sylvia wrote many of the songs for Danny’s most famous movies. She was nominated for two Oscars and two Emmys and she won a Peabody Award.

Here’s a photo of Danny and Sylvia together:

Sylvia Fine and Danny Kaye

I added the photo because Sylvia never performed her own work and I always find it helpful to put a face to a name. Here’s Danny Thomas and Barbara Bel Geddes performing one of Sylvia’s most enduring works “Lullaby In Ragtime” from the movie “The Five Pennies” (1959).

Do you know what you learn a lot about when you do an internet search for Sylvia Fine? The TV show “The Nanny.” For example, did you know that Fran Drescher is now a US diplomat? Fran also recorded a song but since we’ve already done both F and D, I won’t be posting it here. You’re welcome.

Comments on: "A-Z Ladies Of Music F" (2)

  1. Vehicles for Sale in Fayetteville said:

    Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing in your feed and I am hoping you write again very soon!

  2. I like this article very much. I will definitely be back. Hope that I will be able to go through much more insightful posts then. Is going to be sharing your wisdom with all of my associates!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

