Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

A-Z Ladies Of Music K

K is for Katherine Dunham. Yes, she is also a dancer but I stand by this selection because she is awesome! Katherine became interested in dance at a very young age. She opened her first dance school when she was 15. She studied dance and anthropology at the University of Chicago. Katherine was a pioneer in the field of dance anthropology and she founded the first African-American dance troupe in the country which she ran for 30 years. She disbanded the group when President Johnson made her a cultural ambassador to Senegal. She stayed active in politics and dance education until her passing in 2006 at the age of 96. Here is a spectacular clip of Katherine with her dance troupe from the movie “Stormy Weather” (1943).

I’m sure there are plenty of exceptions to the rule, but it seems to me that most people who achieve true greatness develop a passion for their craft at a very young age. It makes me wonder what’s in store for my Beautiful Girl. Almost as soon as she could talk she has been saying that she plans to be “famous” when she grows up. When she was 4 I put her in pee wee soccer and I knew right then that my girl was destined for… something that wasn’t soccer. While a dozen other preschoolers chased up and down the field after the (adorably tiny) ball, my baby was working the crowd! She waved at the grandmas, she danced and twirled and modeled her uniform for the parents on the sidelines and she proudly read the letters and numbers on her jersey to anyone who would listen. “What care I for your silly soccer skills” my girl’s antics seemed to say “I am a STAR!” She’s still not sure exactly what she’s going to be famous for but in the age of Kardashians, I really don’t think it matters. Whatever happens she’ll know that I, her number one fan, will be sitting in the stands enjoying the show.

PS- Also, I hope her standard 8-week celebrity marriage nets me some grandchildren!

Comments on: "A-Z Ladies Of Music K" (1)

  1. how to get whiter teeth said:

    I am not certain where you are getting your information, however good topic. I needs to spend a while finding out more or figuring out more. Thank you for fantastic info I used to be looking for this information for my mission. I apologize for bad English. Goodbye from Japan!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

