Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

A-Z Ladies Of Music N

N is for pianist/singer Nellie Lutcher. Nellie was the eldest of 15 children. Her father was a bassist and her mother was an organist. When Nellie was young her father formed a family band and when Nellie was 12 she got her first break when Ma Rainey’s pianist fell ill and she got to play the gig. In 1947 she signed with Capitol Records where she had a string of US and UK hits. By the late 50’s Nellie had taken an administrative role with the Los Angeles Musician’s Union but she continued to perform into the 1990s. Here’s “Fine Brown Frame.” You Tube says it was recorded in 1947.

Speaking of fine brown frames, I just discovered Blair Underwood is on Twitter. I plan to start following him just as soon as I finish this post because if I’m not stalking him, how will he know he loves me?

PS- In the unbelievably unlikely event that Blair’s people are watching this blog, these are the jokes. I am not actually a stalker. Well, unless you’re the last Milano cookie in the bag which I know I couldn’t possibly have finished that quickly without noticing. In which case I WILL find you!

Comments on: "A-Z Ladies Of Music N" (1)

  1. cool shooting games said:

    Thanks for another informative site. Where else could I am getting that type of information written in such an ideal way? I’ve a project that I’m simply now operating on, and I’ve been on the glance out for such info.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

