Wonderful Tunes Provided By Friends. Wild Tangents Provided By Me.

A-Z Ladies Of Music U

U is for spoken word artist Ursula Rucker. Ursula majored in journalism in college but she’d been writing poetry since adolescence. She began performing her work in 1994. Usula is often a featured artist at popular music festivals and she’s made several critically aclaimed recordings. Here she is working with 4Hero at the Montreal Jazz Festival performing “Loveless.”

I had never heard of Ursula Rucker before I made this list. I have never heard of anyone she’s worked with either. That’s not unusual for me as I am hopelessly and unremorsfully out of step with modern music. I do quite like her style and her message though. Perhaps this is an important step on the road to cool for me but to tell you the truth I sincerely hope not.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

